Books

Payment For Books

E-Books

Some of my print titles are available as e-books on Kindle and other digital downloads.  Two e-books have been put together for direct sale through my website.

Common Nuk Tessli Mountain Flowers,

Windowsill Salads: Growing Sprouts and Microgreens

Print Books

Scroll to the bottom of the list for more details.

Captured By Fire

Harry: A Wilderness Dog Saga

And The River Still Sings

Lonesome – 10th Anniversary Edition

Ginty’s Ghost

A Wilderness Dweller’s Cookbook

A Mountain Year

Wildfire in the Wilderness

Lonesome: Memoirs of a Wilderness Dog  (See also the 10th Anniversary Edition.)

Snowshoes and Spotted Dick

Nuk Tessli: The Life of a Wilderness Dweller

Blockhaus am Singenden Fluss

Cabin at Singing River

To Stalk the Oomingmak

 

 

Captured By Fire

With co-author Fred Reid

24.95

Soft Cover, 312 pages

Harbour Publishing, September 2019

 

Two personal accounts of residents who stayed, despite evacuation orders, during British Columbia’s devastating 2017 fires.

 

harry-cover

Harry: A Wilderness Dog Saga

22.95

Soft Cover, 287 pages

Harbour Publishing, September 2017.

In the tradition of Lonesome, Harry and his sidekick, Badger, tell the stories of all the dogs in Chris’s pack from Lonesome to the present day.

 

river-cover

And The River Still Sings

21.95

Soft Cover, 251 pages

Caitlin Press, September 2014

The  author’s life from childhood and through her international travels, showing how she ended up in Canada and became a wilderness dweller.

 

lonesome-10thLonesome 10th Anniversary Edition

19.95

Hard Cover, 245 pages

Touchwood Editions, September 2014

Because the original Lonesome was such a good seller, the publisher issued this special anniversary edition.  Content is much the same except for an introduction by Harry.

 

Ginty’s Ghostgintys-ghost-cover

21.95

Soft Cover, 296 pages

Harbour Publishing, September 2012

Chris’s “retirement” home on a remote, derelict homestead in British Columbia, Canada.

 

cookbook-front-cover

A Wilderness Dweller’s Cookbook

14.95

Soft Cover, 96 pages

Harbour Publishing, October 2010

The Best Bread in the World and other food dissertations and recipes from Nuk Tessli, a remote, fly-in Lake high in British Columbia’s mountains.

 

a-mountain-year-cover

A Mountain Year

36.95

Hard Cover, 184 pages

Harbour Publishing, October 2008

Nature journal full of colour drawings from Nuk Tessli, a remote fly-in lake high in British Columbia’s mountains.

 

wildfire-in-the-wilderness-cover

Wildfire in the Wilderness

19.95

Soft Cover, 224 pages

Harbour Publishing, August 2006

The dramatic account of the Lonesome Lake Fire of 2004 in British Columbia’s mountains.

 

cover-of-lonesome-dog

Lonesome: Memoirs of a Wilderness Dog

17.95

Soft Cover, 240 pages

Touchwood Editions, October 2004

Years of wilderness living in British Columbia’s mountains as seen through the eyes of a dog. It will make you laugh and cry.

 

snowshoes-and-spotted-dick-cover

Snowshoes and Spotted Dick

24.95

Soft Cover, 304 pages

Harbour Publishing, May 2003

Building a cabin on an off-road, high-altitude lake in British Columbia’s mountains.

 

cover-nuk-tessli

Nuk Tessli: The Life of a Wilderness Dweller

17.95

Soft Cover, 180 pages

Orca Book Publishers, May 1999

Reissued by Harbour Publishing October 2008

Life of a single woman in British columbia’s mountains on a high-altitude lake 2-days walk from a road.

 

cover-of-diary

Diary of a Wilderness Dweller

18.95

Soft Cover, 209 pages

Orca Book Publishers, October 1996

Reissued by Harbour Publishing October 2008

A woman builds two cabins alone on a high altitude lake 2 days’ walk from a road in British Columbia’s mountains.

 

cabin-at-singing-river-cover

Cabin at Singing River

Soft Cover 176 pages

Camden House September 1991

Reissued Raincoast Books, January 2008

A woman builds a cabin 2 days’ walk from a road in the Tweedsmuir Provincial Park, British Columbia.

 

blackhaus-am-singenden-fluss-cover

Blockhaus am Singenden Fluss

18.95

Soft cover

National Geographic Adventure Press, May 2006

Reissued Piper Verlag GmbH, January 2010

German translation of Cabin at Singing River (see above.)

 

to-stalk-the-oomingmak-cover

To Stalk the Oomingmak

24.95

Hardcover

Aquarelle Press, 1990

An artist’s summer in the Canadian arctic.